Tenscare Itouch Sure Pelvic Floor Exerciser

Itouch SureThe pelvic floor exerciser arrived quickly and in discreet packaging as per usual with lovehoney. The exerciser comes in a white and purple box with a picture of the itouch sure on the front and a summary of what it does and how it does it. Make no mistake this is not a luxury item, the itouch sure is not something that will wow you with it’s stunning packaging and design. It is an item designed to do a job and that job is to improve the strength of your pelvic floor muscles.

Inside the box is the itouch sure, a connection lead, the electrode, 2 AA batteries, a storage pouch and an instruction booklet. The storage pouch is clear plastic with a ziplock seal and is so brittle that when I carefully unfolded mine it promptly split down one seam. The sure itself is made from plastic and not particularly good plastic at that, it feels really quite brittle and like it would break if you were to drop it (I didn’t test this out as I don’t actually want to risk breaking it, my pelvic floor needs some major help!). It has a display screen to show what setting you are on and 7 buttons; on, off, programme, time, strength up, strength down and a lock button.

The itouch has 4 different programmes: stress (for Itouch Suretreating stress incontinence eg when you cough/sneeze), urge (for treating urge incontinence eg when you get a sudden urge to go to the toilet and can’t hold it in), mixed (for treating mixed incontinence which is both stress and urge incontinence) and tone (for toning and strengthening the pelvic floor which could potentially improve sexual enjoyment).
To use the itouch sure you essentially connect the leads to the probe and control unit, lube up and insert the probe, select the desired programme, time and strength and off you go! Sounds simple right?

I decided to try the stress setting first as after 2 children relatively close together my pelvic floor isn’t in tip top condition. I’m fine when coughing or sneezing but some things like trampolining or jumping for more than about 30 seconds are a no-go! I read through the instructions carefully and saw that in order for it to be working I had to feel the muscles contracting. I inserted the probe using a little water based lubricant and then switched the unit on. I selected the stress programme and the recommended time of 20minutes and off I went. Having previously read that some may start at a strength or 40 and others at 60 I quickly skipped it up to 40 and felt nothing, 50 and 60 were both the same! I knew the unit was working after holding it in my hand before using it to test it out. At 68 I started to feel my pelvic floor contracting, it felt really odd and almost painful at first until I had gotten used to it and after a couple of minutes I could easily ignore it.
Itouch Sure
The fact that the base of the probe and the attached wire stay outside of you means that ideally you need to be lying down or reclined to use the exerciser which for me is not a problem. After my 20 minutes was up I took the probe out cleaned it by washing it in warm soapy water, rinsing and then drying as recommended in the instructions.

The next day I woke up to some really quite painful cramps that felt like period pains. Supposedly these cramps are possible for the first few sessions as according to the instruction manual they are the same reaction you would get to any unaccustomed exercise. If you experience these it is recommended to wait until they go away before continuing using so I had a day off. The day after I tried again and had the same cramps the next day. And then again after another day off but I think they are no longer as painful.

The fact I am getting the cramping after pains shows me that the itouch sure is working Itouch Suremy pelvic floor muscles, however it is a bit early still to see any mentionable difference in them. I will continue to use the itouch sure as I think it is a great way to work the muscles (and have a guaranteed 20 minute lie down!). I would recommend the itouch sure as it does seem to actually work the muscles so I cannot see why it will not improve my pelvic floor muscle strength over time.
I was sent the itouch sure pelvic floor exerciser free of charge by Lovehoney in exchange for an honest review. You can buy it
here

This entry was posted in Kegel Balls, Miscellaneous, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

